Diggings

A blog by Toby Dayton
Employment Guide Still Running Scam Ads; Dailies Running Ads For Same Crook

Posted on Tuesday 25 March 2008 |

Send to a Friend





Send to a friend

postal-ad-collage.jpg

As I’ve written about before, the Employment Guide has been running ads for one of the biggest sleazebags in the recruitment advertising industry for as long as I can remember. This guy runs ads charging $24.99 for emplyment applications and test prep materials for postal jobs and other government jobs, all of which are freely available on federal government web sites. These ads are typically run in those free weeklies around the country that have absolutely no regard for their readers and have no qualms about profiting from disreputable advertisers.

What I hadn’t realized until recently, however, is that this same scumbag is running his bogus job ads in daily newspapers around the country, including the Duluth News, the Chattanooga Times, the Des Moines Register, and the Grand Forks Herald. I guess when your revenue is deteriorating as rapidly as it is for the dailies and reputable advertisers are abandoning your media in droves, you have to replace that revenue with whatever advertisers are willing to buy ads in your daily paper. Apparently for these dailies, it doesn’t matter at all how significant the disservice is to their readership. It’s no wonder that the dailies are struggling. When you don’t care in the least about what goes in your paper, it’s only a matter of time before your readers don’t care in the least about finding alternatives.

Tags: , , , , ,


Related Posts:

    • No Related Post
  1.  
    KD
    May 9, 2008 | 8:30 AM
     

    I notice that Employment Guide.com regulary advertises ” Confidential Employer” looking to fill several positions in Florence, AL. Most all say $17.50 per hour. Administrative, Customer Service, etc. Do you think these jobs exist? Or is it attempt to get information from people? The way the economy is, those posted jobs would have been filled and never posted again. But it seems every month they list them again. It is very frustrating when you are actually looking for something and it ends up being a scam.

  2.  
    May 11, 2008 | 12:32 PM
     

    Most often on the web, and especially with employment classifieds and job boards, if something appears to good to be true, it’s best to assume it’s a scam. The Employment Guide does nothing to screen their advertisers, and anyone willing to pay them a fee can run an ad, no matter how suspicious it seems or how obvious it might be that it’s a scam. If you feel compelled to check it out, do so with complete skepticism. I would not give any personal information, and under no circumstances should you send money for any reason. Keep your guard up for a scam. If you do find it’s a scam, report it.

  3.  
    July 10, 2008 | 10:35 AM
     

    [...] advantage of the most vulnerable in our society and prey on ignorance and desperation. I’ve written about this topic quite a bit over the past few years, and will coninue to do so until the Guide and other newspapers stop [...]

  4.  
    August 19, 2008 | 9:52 AM
     

    [...] except prey on unknowing, uninformed jobseekers. I have written about this issue before (here, here, here, and here), and will continue to do so until the Guide stops aiding and abetting these [...]

  5.  
    Jim Deerfield
    April 18, 2009 | 12:06 AM
     

    Talent 6 is another one. they advertise for TV and movie extras, and have postings on CB, Monster, Hotjobs, and when you call, they want to charge $45 to create a portfolio for you. TOTAL scam. They also keyword spam, embedding tons of keywords in every posting on some boards hoping to spam evey jobseeker in the database for those job boards that send out job alerts. Horrible. And you wonder why this space has a bad rap.

  6.  
    Jim Deerfield
    April 18, 2009 | 5:06 AM
     

    Talent 6 is another one. they advertise for TV and movie extras, and have postings on CB, Monster, Hotjobs, and when you call, they want to charge $45 to create a portfolio for you. TOTAL scam. They also keyword spam, embedding tons of keywords in every posting on some boards hoping to spam evey jobseeker in the database for those job boards that send out job alerts. Horrible. And you wonder why this space has a bad rap.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

blog comments powered by Disqus